top of page

a world of art!

'grab the monet and let's gogh!'

 

Yesterday I had the opportunity to visit the MOA at BYU and the Springville art museum. HOLY COW I WAS IN HEAVEN. I got to see so many beautiful things made by people from all different ages and backgrounds.

I am in awe and in love with the way people are able to express themselves in so many different forms-- music, video, words, clothing, architecture, paint, ceramics and SO much more. There are entire CULTURES from long ago that we know very little about. One of the only things we have to remember them by and learn from are the lasting things they MADE.

I think the reason art is so impressive is because it's such a subjective experience. You can sit and stare at something that resonates with you for hours, and love it with all of your heart, maybe even moved to tears, and the person next to you may not even blink an eye as they walk past. It makes it so personal for everyone!

I have loved Vincent Van Gogh for so long- I find him fascinating. He has such an interesting story and style of work. One of my favorite songs is "Vincent (Starry, Starry Night)" by Don McLean. I have been anxiously anticipating the 'Loving Vincent' movie. One of my teachers was recognized for recreating a Van Gogh painting using breakfast cereal (with the help of several students). I've seen makeup tutorials inspired by him, however absurd that may sound. I finally realized today just how cool that is.. PEOPLE MAKE ART THAT HONORS OTHER ARTISTS!

Art is fun. Art is inspiring. Art makes me happy to be alive.

So in whatever way you are able, I encourage you to make and appreciate art to the fullest. The beauty of life is that we get to create and spread that beauty to everyone around us.

We get to tell our stories, and that will be a privilege I am forever grateful for.

"art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life" -pablo picasso

XOXO

Love, Mads


bottom of page