top of page

still, God is enough


This Sunday, my heart is heavy.

I have been overwhelmed with the amount of tragic and terrifying events happening in my small community the past couple of months-- I have seen suffering over the passing of loved ones, the hatred and cruelty towards our neighbors, and I have watched our differences come between us time and time again.

I have also witnessed people coming together to lift and inspire, holding hands and easing burdens. I have realized that all the heartache and pain I have seen (and had my share of experience with), does not even begin to compare to the love of our Father in heaven.

Today I find myself asking, What can we do to ease the hurt we feel when our trials and hardships seem never-ending, and the light at the end of the tunnel is becoming harder to concentrate on? When everywhere I turn, I seem to find suffering and grief? To this, the only answer I can think of is "still, God is enough". That truth is eternal, unchanging. He is constant. He understands our sorrow. He has given us the gift of each other. He is waiting for us with open arms. The love he has for us is immeasurable. He has not left us alone.

Thomas S. Monson has said: "At times... we feel surrounded by the pain of broken hearts, the disappointment of shattered dreams, and the despair of vanished hopes... We feel abandoned, heartbroken, alone. If you find yourself in such a situation, I plead with you to turn to your Heavenly Father in faith. He will lift you and guide you. He will not always take your afflictions from you, but He will comfort and lead you with love through whatever storm you face."

We are facing storms, my friends. Today, and in the many days to come. God is real and he is ready to comfort and help us.

 

We live in a time where people are so quick to judge, quick to anger, and quick to ridicule.

Especially in a high school setting; we have become a merciless, bitter, and distrusting group. The 'every man for himself' mentality has taken over.

But I strongly believe the secret of life is this: people need people. We need each other, and we need our faith in God more than ever.

We are all walking a difficult roads, and now there is only room for compassion and love in our hearts. I hope we can all continue to feel and spread the love our Father has for us.

I am not perfect, none of us are. But I have come to realize that through the atonement of Jesus Christ, we can be made better and stronger, with a greater assurance and hope for the good things to come. Now is the time for us to come together, to look to the future with happiness in our hearts, to find faith & hope in God and believe that his miracles happen every day. And remember that we are the enablers for those miracles to happen. Tender mercies surround us in rain or shine.

So to all of you struggling and searching for peace:

I encourage you to look for the good; whether it be people or things or feelings: a nice quiet book to accompany stormy weather, a hearty laugh, someone who will dance to Elvis with you in the kitchen, flowers, a loving Heavenly Father, your favorite teeshirt, making someone smile with kind words.

This video has always been one of my favorites, and I think we could ALL use it now more than ever.

so there it is, short and sweet.

take heart, my friends, for He has overcome the world. (john 16:33)

XOXO

Love, Mads


bottom of page