top of page

this one is for rachel g


Do you ever meet someone who you can look at, and with just one glance-- you know they are something good?

That's Rachel.

She has taught me that high school is not about how many boys like you, what grade you got on your math test, or what dress you wore to the prom (even though she does appreciate the value of a good dress). High school is about finding yourself, and learning to love who you are. It's about making friends and memories that will last long into the future, if not forever.

She has taught me that there is no choice but to love yourself, and to embrace your faults, because that is the first step to becoming better. She knows she deserves the world, and she refuses to settle for less; she knows she is a daughter of God, and there is nothing more powerful than that. She may fall on difficult times but she puts her best foot forward, and looks to the future with a happy heart and hope for better things ahead. There is no doubt in my mind she is a living example that choosing love and happiness take you far in life.

She appreciates the simple. She doesn't like to over-complicate anything, and her heart is so big. She is so wise. I have come to her so many times- crying over some silly boy, or feeling disappointed, panicking over something unimportant, or just needing a good laugh; she doesn't hesitate to take me on a pizza run, tell me silly stories, or sing at the top of our lungs to our favorite songs until we feel invincible (sometimes I am thoroughly convinced that we ARE invincible).

I wrote this poem about Rachel a long time ago, and I feel it fitting to share here:

there is something exchanged through warm smiles on barefoot summer drives

glances passed between wide eyes with messy hair on a night like this one.

I'd like to think if that something was a person

It would be her

If you are lucky enough to catch a glimpse of her when she is doing something simple: reading

or laughing or looking into the eyes of someone she adores

you will know as well as I do

she is as close to magic as we may ever come; she helps us believe in better things miracles rest on the tips of her fingertips and flowers bloom wherever she may walk. she is a reminder of the good things to come, she is the smell of lemongrass and sleepy smiles she is initials carved in trees and the scenic route you choose to take home when you need to breathe she is all of these things but you must always remember there is no need of a metaphor to capture the beauty she brings with her, the kind that stays tucked in the folds of your teeshirt long after she leaves. she is breathtaking, with sparkling eyes and a heart made of gold, she is made of stardust and light and that something we all look for and if you're lucky enough to find her sit back and laugh as you watch her change your world.

Rachel embodies light and it shines through to everyone who comes into contact with her. She leaves happiness where ever she goes, and is always the brightest person in a room. People are drawn to her, because she is sunshine and she warms every heart she meets.

so to the man lucky enough to marry my dear friend:

I know you must be worthy of every bit of her, and I cannot wait to know you.

She has expensive taste in clothing, and it fits her well. She is a terrific listener. She is not one to speak poorly of people. You will never be bored, because with her every day is an adventure. She is one of the most Christ-like 18 year-old girls I have ever met. She has a strange love for mozzarella sticks. Her kindness is unparalleled, and you will not be surprised when I tell you that she has the best sense of humor I have ever come across. She loves to laugh, and I think one of your favorite things about her will be the way her nose scrunches when she finds something particularly hilarious. It takes a lot to knock that girl off her feet. She is an incredible dancer and the passion she has for it will rock your world. I think you know what you are signing up for, but part of me knows you have no idea how much of a win this is for you. Please don't ever let her forget how much you love her or how beautiful her soul is. You are in for a life of love and your story will become one of the best stories in the world, thanks to her.

p.s. I am going to dance so much at your wedding and I cannot wait.

I met her at exactly the right time in my life, and for that I am forever grateful.

I know that I will continue to admire Rachel for years to come, and I cannot wait to see what she does with the life she is making for herself.

Regardless, I know she is going to change the world.

xoxo,

mads


bottom of page